On Blogging in General

Blogging and me are long time friends, if such a concept makes any sense. The beginnings of my blogging actually originated in emails I would send to almost everyone I knew near the end of High School. For close to two years (if my memory on this is accurate, and I don’t care to find out), I sent ramblings and ideas ranging from “insightful” (High Schooler after all) to just plain rubbish, like writing one word.

I don’t know why so many people allowed me to do such things and not get annoyed, and I think only one person in the collection of letters I wrote told be to bugger off, if only he wasn’t the person I was trying to contact. Still, there were people who said they always looked forward to my insight, so I kept writing to the “audience” in the hopes they would find appreciative. I was looking for attention, and it was an outlet that was easy to work with, and could be seen by many people at once. And that’s blogging in a nutshell, isn’t it?

Sometime later, I got to thinking I could reach a larger audience by having a website, and have people direct there should they be interested in what I have to say. Better to have loyal readers than annoy someone being polite. I figured out the HTML, started with one of those free sites. Then a friend offered a sub-domain of his website, where in I could do as I please. From there, “The Ranting Place” was strong for over three years (probably more, but my memory is sketchy, and again, don’t care enough to verify). Blogged throughout the whole time.

Then I moved to Milwaukee. Dropped my laptop. Was disconnected from constant Internet for the first time since 2002 (probably earlier, but whatever). And that’s really the reason I stopped blogging. Not because I grew out of it, but because I didn’t have the capability to continue as I would have. Looking back, I’m pretty sure I would have continued to blog if I hadn’t been stupid with my laptop, and really don’t know how to feel about that.

I mean, sure, it was its own experience, but now I really just don’t see the point. What I used it for in the past was just plain embarrassing, and I don’t see the point or need to try and make better on what I did, when I could just focus on other things. Sure, I did have that track of time (even without my own computer) which I blogged about my week for thirteen weeks. Ended at thirteen, because I realized I didn’t have the heart or saw a purpose in doing it anymore about eight or nine weeks in. Strange that the thirteenth week was also a whirlwind of emotion, but hey, however it goes. As noted, I saw no purpose in it all, and let it go.

Now, I’ve had a computer for over a year. I got my YouTube displaying content, began to make (minimal) music and place it on Newgrounds, even bothered with Twitter and it’s short message sharing, and even an account for myself at That Guy With The Glasses…for whatever reason (seriously, why aren’t you there right now?). My presence on the Internet is stronger than ever, but I loathe the idea of blogging, even though it’s one of the most treasured uses of the Net…well, with youngsters these days at least. I consider myself an old fogey now in Internet Years.

As a tool to keep people updated, to keep track of where you’re going, and basic news and idea sharing in general, I can see the merit. If I were someone important with genuine skill and a genuine audience, sure thing. But as a means to connect others together on a physical level, which is what really matters in the thick of it all? Not so much. Oh sure, you can meet amazing people, but that’s the point: that you meet them IRL.

You invest in so much sharing and communication with a light bulb that burns your eyes, while you don’t even know your neighbors thirty feet away. Granted, communicate with people who are too far to meet in realistic terms makes perfect for the Internet, but if you can talk to someone on Skype thirty minutes drive away, why are you in your room when you can learn what it means to be around another? Yeah, I know there are circumstances for everything, but I ask all the same.

And journalism in any degree is supposed to be a more private matter, or so I think. Why the heck does the world need to know what I’m up to these days, how I feel, and other circumstances that really only matter to those whom really effect me? Why I prefer the method of the Living Journal, in which I don’t use pen or paper. I simply use my friends and family to note the ideas and dates in my head, so that it doesn’t sit in a book to be discovered when I die. It sits in the hearts and minds of others who will grow from what I share with them. Sounds a hell of a lot better to me.

Okay, so pretty much all the ideas I’ve stated here aren’t practiced too well by me. But I can at least see what the issues are, and what I need to do in order to make things work and be better (a little bit). That’s the first step in all plans. And while I have this blog now, I don’t know if means I’m going to be using it or just let it sit like the website I had, which got wiped clean in a server move. Just another option I suppose, to be used for good or suck, depending on how I go about my life. Peace out.

And now for your viewing pleasure, here’s something amazing.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

