My Akoha History #9 – MLK’s I Have a Dream

Finally. An Akoha mission I’m able to remember. “I Have a Dream” was played on August 30, 2010, and required me to look through a very popular speech done by none other than Martin Luther King Jr. and pick my favorite lines. Not that hard at all…then again, it’s a fifteen minute speech, and I can’t even sit through a presentation that talks about anime and piracy without nodding off, and I enjoy that topic, so…yeah.

On MLK himself, I really don’t know that much. I have thoughts and memories as a child where I was told he was great, read books about how he was great, and went about talking how he was great, but I never did it as an adult where it really matters. A child is impressionable and will pretty much do anything that sounds good and fun if it’s beneficial for the self, and it’s my believe I fell under that mentality. I know how much the USA likes to associate with and spread the message of MLK, but I don’t know a damn thing about MLK that is part of my adult mind and not from the mind I have nothing to do with anymore.

Plenty tells me that I should take the time to actually learn what it is that makes MLK tick, if only because the world keeps telling me it’s a big deal (I did drive through MLK Avenue in Milwaukee a lot), and I’d like to figure that out for myself. But in the never-ending sea of information and history, this drive gets lost in the swell of new age information and pressing responsibilities. Will likely get a handle of it should I ever get a handle on my life in the now, but as it goes, these are the lines I chose from his speech.

We cannot walk alone.

And as we walk, we must make the pledge that we shall always march ahead.

We cannot turn back.

It was a very simple choice, really. One, as it’s written in the text those three lines stand out the most in comparison to the giant blocks of text. Two, I’ve long felt this relates to my feelings of responsibility and community. No one man ever gives birth to themselves, and every great individual has had some help along the way towards their grand goals, be it someone actually involved in their lives, or those invisible folk who actually make their lives manageable (government, fast food worker, etc.). And despite whatever happens down the road, we will always need to pick up the pieces and reach some sort or resolution, lest we wither and die.

But again, they are the simplest lines I could have chosen from the many lines I could have taken from MLK’s speech, which I never fully read or even listened to in all my years. Yes, that means I just linked you to the YouTube video earlier but didn’t bother to watch it myself. As noted, I’ll eventually get around to it, because we’re talking about a man who put his life on the line for very simple freedoms we take for granted in this day and age. Someone like that deserves your attention, and even more so the history and lives of those around him as well. If you can’t grasp the spectrum of history, how can you call yourself an informed thinker?

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

