40 Days & 40 Nights: Instant Messaging

By this point I have likely consumed vast quantities of ice cream. You are welcome to be jealous. I rather think you should feel sorry for my poor stomach and rotting teeth, though I’m sure you’ll likely laugh instead. As it goes. The ice cream withdrawal took some getting used to, especially given my parents brought in a large gallon pail of vanilla fudge swirl around the halfway mark. I got through it though, and managed to ingest more cold glasses of milk to compensate the lack of ice cream. So I’m honestly not any healthier for the matter, but since when have I ever been a healthy eater?

So what’s next on my list? I’ve already stated how I’ve been scraping the bottom of the barrel, but I find this issue of mine to be more a problem of creativity than a lack of options. At the very least I could redo one of the Lents I’ve taken on in the past, right? And that’s not to say I don’t have an idea I’m ever ready to try, though the implications of giving it a go…I don’t think I’m ready for the consequences. No, not as bad as giving up the Internet, which I actually minimally dealt with for over a year back in the day, and don’t think I’ve ever willingly do. Will take another broken computer or some form of imprisonment to do that, and both are likely options in the future. In that I accept such outcomes, and not because I deserve them. Honestly.

But hey! How about something that has once again taken root in my life, only…not really? I speak of instant messaging, which I was incredibly addicted to back in the day when I first discovered it. Instant communication with someone in another badly ventilated room away from society? Awesome! I recall being a fiend on the IM, constantly berating others with conversation just because I was bored. With Internet access. Imagine that! When I eventually stopped poking people, I realized no one really cared to speak with me to begin with, so I pretty much stopped using IM completely. There was the thought of it being my quick access to email without going through all the website prompts, but then I had to leave the program open, and I just didn’t see the point of having it run if I wasn’t going to use it.

Here comes the “not really” part of my return to instant messaging. Some time ago, I eventually rediscovered Trillian and marveled at how I could instantly access all my emails from a single platform. And the IM features? Sure they were used, but I hardly ever started a conversation. Most conversations were started in my direction, and I only initiated if I really needed to know something, and only kept conversations going if I was continually prompted. I’m not a very sociable fellow in that sense, but this is redundant chatter, so as it goes. Point is, I never really returned to instant messaging because I never pursued it. So giving this up isn’t really going to hurt me too much, given I can still be reached via electronic mail. Still, the conversations that are had with me over time tend to get exhausting and draw my focus away from other things. As such, I end up staying up later than normal, because I usually still need to get something done. Given my free time is once again limited due to a new work life, I’m down with this oh so much.

Because I’m giving instant messaging up and not Trillain, it’s likely I’ll be “Invisible” or still be on Facebook with the chat turned off. And seriously, what’s the harm of a decent digital exchange in lieu of LOL or other short blurbs of nonsense? Hell, the Facebook messaging system used have a difference between messages and IM, and now that they are one and the same, saying LOL is all it’s used for. Mind you, I find this FB change to be fascinating, because now I can look back on the chats I’ve had with people over the course of the years. However, that’s beside the point, because seriously! Facebook messaging has become nothing but a haven of quirk blurbs. It’s come to the point that any time I say something of worth people treat me like a nonconformist, and I can’t tell if that’s a good or bad thing. I’m a believer of using all 140 characters on Twitter as well, because if you don’t have something to say, don’t say anything at all. And that’s why you should follow my Twitter. Because I’m smart dammit.

Looking forward to keeping things simple, slow, methodical and have some substance to say to people. As electronic communication should be. Like regular mail? Don’t quite know if I’ll get the same in return. I’ll “be back” round July 1, 2012, or so, so enjoy your LOL in the chats where I’ll likely not bother you with my nonconformist ways. Or something.

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “40 Days & 40 Nights: Instant Messaging

  1. […] turned back on the instant messaging stuffus, given I’m officially finished with my last 40. While cut off from those functions, it didn’t feel a whole lot different than when I […]

Leave a Reply

